2022 SCSTMA Officers

David Manning - Past President
Furman University
3300 Poinsett Hwy., Greenville, SC 29613
(864) 294-3542

Bruce Suddeth, CSFM - Secretary
University of South Carolina Upstate
800 University Way, Spartanburg, SC 29303
(864) 503-5514


Alan Wilson, CSFM - President-Elect
Wilson & Associates Sports Turf
1737 S. Lake Dr.
Lexington, SC 29073
​(803) 957-3115

Travis Dill - Treasurer
University of South Carolina Upstate
800 University Way, Spartanburg, SC 29303
​(864) 503-5500

The first organizational meeting of the SCSTMA was initiated by Dr. Trent Hale on April 15, 2003 at the Clemson University Turfgrass Symposium held at the Pee Dee Research and Education Center in Florence, SC. Six people attended this meeting from the hundreds of invitations mailed, but it was enough to form a steering committee for the South Carolina Chapter. Alan Wilson, Bruce Suddeth, Bruce Viehman, Mike Burgess, and Trent Hale comprised the steering committee.

The first meeting was held at the Horry-Georgetown Tech Grand Strand Campus on September 30, 2003 where officers were elected. The first officers of the SCSTMA were Alan Wilson (President), Bruce Suddeth (President-Elect), Bruce Viehman (Commercial Vice President), and Mike Burgess (Secretary/Treasurer). Trent Hale appointed himself Executive Director.

Lee Clinton, CSFM 
Clover School District
604 Bethel St., Clover, SC 29710
(803) 810-8075

Marc Allen - Commercial VP
Helena Chemical 
120 Settle Rd., Inman, SC 29349
​(864) 706-3927

SCSTMA Chapter History